WHAT  Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stranger. The entire first season and first three episodes of the second season of the HBO Max Original series Doom Patrol, which reimagines one of DC’s strangest groups of super heroes, will be available exclusively on HBO GO from Saturday, 27 June. A new episode of the second season will be released weekly every Friday.

Each member of the Doom Patrol suffered a horrible accident that gave them superhuman abilities, but also left them scarred and disfigured. 

Traumatised and downtrodden, the team comprises of Robotman aka Cliff Steele (played by Brendan), Negative Man aka Larry Trainor (played by Matt Bomer), Elasti-Woman aka Rita Farr (played by April Bowlby), Crazy Jane (played by Diane Guerrero) and Cyborg aka Victor Stone (played by Joivan Wade).

Part support group, part Super Hero team, the Doom Patrol is a band of superpowered freaks who fight for a world that wants nothing to do with them. They come together to investigate the weirdest phenomena in existence under the leadership of modern-day mad scientist Niles Caulder aka The Chief (played by Timothy Dalton).

In Season 1, following the mysterious disappearance of The Chief, these reluctant heroes find themselves in a place they never expected to be and are called to action by Vic Stone aka Cyborg, who proposes a mission that is hard to refuse. Season 1 also stars Alan Tudyk  as Mr. Nobody.

In Season 2, following the defeat of Mr. Nobody, the Doom Patrol now find themselves mini-sized and stranded on Cliff’s toy race car track. Here they begin to deal with their feelings of betrayal with Niles Caulder aka The Chief, while confronting their own personal baggage. 

As each member faces the challenge of growing beyond their own past traumatic experiences, they must come together to embrace and protect the newest member of the family, Dorothy Spinner (recurring guest star Abigail Shapiro), Caulder’s daughter, whose powers remain a mysterious but real threat to bringing on the end of the world.

Doom Patrol is produced by Berlanti Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television. The series is developed by Jeremy Carver and executive produced by Carver, Geoff Johns, Greg Berlanti, Sarah Schechter and Chris Dingess. 

The series is based on characters created for DC by Arnold Drake, Bob Haney and Bruno Premiani.


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post